The Call of the Sea 01872 580022 

skippers@classic-sailing.co.uk

Deckhand Voyages

TRAINING OPPORTUNITY OR GAP YEAR PLACEMENT
Deckhand on tall ship Bessie Ellen and Irene (4-5 week training berth).

18 to 26 year only    1 month minimum period.

Everyone on board participates in the ship's operation: handling sails, scrubbing the deck, taking a turn at the wheel, raising anchor, hauling on lines, helping in the galley, going aloft (optional), or keeping lookout. There are training classes in seamanship and sail making, some navigation and of course log/ watch keeping and anchor watches.

No sailing experience is needed.

All bedding, wet weather gear inclusive.  Meals and some shore excursions.  Personal training given when possible otherwise part of the crew and expected to carry out all crew duties and stand watches.

See the voyages below for more information.

Classic Sailing holidays - a passion for wooden boats and tall ships.

Photo Description Departs Disembarks
Irene - IRDH210117 - About 4 weeks Details
Irene - Deckhand
18 to 26 years only | GBP £ 800.00 Available - Book Now
Sat, 21/01/2017 - 12:00
Tenerife, Canaries
Sun, 19/02/2017 - 10:00
Tenerife, Canaries
Irene - IRDH200217 - About 4 weeks Details
Irene - Deckhand
18 to 26 years only | GBP £ 800.00 Available - Book Now
Mon, 20/02/2017 - 12:00
Tenerife, Canaries
Mon, 13/03/2017 - 10:00
Tenerife, Canaries
Bessie Ellen - BEDH180317 - About 4 weeks Details
Deckhand Experience, Bessie Ellen- Possibly beginning in Denmark, confirmation closer to the time.
18 to 26 years only | GBP £ 600.00 Fully booked
Sat, 18/03/2017 - 12:00
Fowey,UK
Thu, 20/04/2017 - 10:00
Fowey, UK
Bessie Ellen - BEDH210417 - About 4 weeks Details
Deckhand Experience, Bessie Ellen, Cornwall to Scotland
18 to 26 years only | GBP £ 800.00 Available - Book Now
Fri, 21/04/2017 - 12:00
Fowey,UK
Fri, 19/05/2017 - 10:00
Oban
Irene - IRDH010517 - About 4 weeks Details
Irene - Deckhand
18 to 26 years only | GBP £ 800.00 Available - Book Now
Mon, 01/05/2017 - 12:00
Yarmouth, UK
Sat, 27/05/2017 - 10:00
Oban
Bessie Ellen - BEDH200517 - About 4 weeks Details
Deckhand Experience, Bessie Ellen
18 to 26 years only | GBP £ 800.00 Available - Book Now
Sat, 20/05/2017 - 12:00
Oban
Sun, 25/06/2017 - 10:00
Liverpool
Irene - IRDH280517 - About 4 weeks Details
Irene - Deckhand
18 to 26 years only | GBP £ 800.00 Available - Book Now
Sun, 28/05/2017 - 12:00
Oban
Sun, 25/06/2017 - 10:00
Oban
Bessie Ellen - BEDH250617 - About 4 weeks Details
Deckhand Experience- Bessie Ellen
18 to 26 years only | GBP £ 800.00 Available - Book Now
Sun, 25/06/2017 - 12:00
Liverpool
Fri, 21/07/2017 - 10:00
Oban
Irene - IRDH260617 - About 4 weeks Details
Irene - Deckhand
18 to 26 years only | GBP £ 800.00 Provisionally Full
Mon, 26/06/2017 - 12:00
Oban
Sun, 23/07/2017 - 10:00
Newlyn,UK
Bessie Ellen - BEDH220717 - About 4 weeks Details
Deckhand Experience- Bessie Ellen
18 to 26 years only | GBP £ 800.00 Available - Book Now
Sat, 22/07/2017 - 12:00
Oban
Fri, 18/08/2017 - 10:00
Oban

Pages

Pick your Sailing Holiday

E.g., 19/01/2017

Search the web site.

Search form

Customer Comments

Antarctica on Europa "experience of a lifetime"

"To describe this trip as the experience of a lifetime is an...

Follow us

RSS Feeds

Latest Offers & New Voyages

First name

Last name

Email